The Conference

The International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz), is the oldest and largest continuous forum devoted to the science and technology of long-wavelength radiation. The scope of the conference includes all scientific and technological activities which involve the long-wavelength region of the electromagnetic spectrum. This covers a very wide range of disciplines, encompassing everything from micro- and nano-scale structures to large-scale accelerators and tokamaks and their applications. Presentations at this conference may address issues ranging from basic physics, chemistry and materials science to applications in energy, communications, imaging and more.

A Bit of History

Founded in the mid-1970's as the International Conference on Submillimeter Waves and their Applications, the conference continues to grow to include an ever broader scope of activities. The conference and its long standing accompanying monthly publication, now known as the Journal of Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves (JIMT), were among the very first scientific outlets for the burgeoning field of far-infrared research. In 2004, the original conference series - by then known as the International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves (IRMMW) - joined up with the International Conference on THz Electronics to form the Joint 29th International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves and the 12th International Conference on Terahertz Electronics (IRMMW-THz 2004). In 2008 the conference name was shortened to the 33rd International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves, keeping the same general acronym: IRMMW-THz 20XX.

On May 7, 2009 the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves was officially incorporated. The society was formed to give a permanent home to the International Organizing Committee (IOC) for IRMMW-THz, to formalize the role of the IOC in maintaining the current conference series, and to link technically with JIMT. The current membership of the IOC can be found here. In addition, the Society administers the Kenneth J. Button Prize, awarded annually for outstanding contributions to the science of the electromagnetic spectrum. The conference alternates among Europe, Asia and North America on a three-year cycle. In 2009, the 34th conference was held in Busan, Korea, and in 2010 the location of the 35th conference was Rome, Italy. The location of the 36th conference was Houston, USA.

Major Topic Areas

The following is a representative list of topics typically covered at the conference:

  1. IR, MMW, and THz applications in biology and medicine
  2. IR, MMW, and THz applications in astronomy, atmospheric and environmental science
  3. IR, MMW, and THz applications in security and defence
  4. IR, MMW, and THz applications in industry
  5. IR, MMW, and THz spectroscopy of gases and liquids
  6. IR, MMW, and THz spectroscopy of solids
  7. Ultrafast and nonlinear measurements
  8. Transmission lines, wave guides and antennas
  9. Gyro-oscillators and amplifiers, plasma diagnostics
  10. Free electron lasers and synchrotron radiation
  11. Modelling and analysis techniques
  12. Novel sources
  13. Novel components
  14. Novel receivers
  15. Novel systems
  16. Quantum cascade lasers
  17. Future applications, markets and directions
  18. THz metrology
Last reviewed: 27 July, 2012

Key Dates

Conference Dates: 23 - 28 September 2012





Edinburgh Photonics



UOW Centre of Medical Radiation Physics



School of Engineering Logo

Australian Synchrotron  

Swinburne Centre for Micro-photonics


Centre for Ultrahigh Bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems

Victoria-Suntech Advanced Solar Facility     


 Technical Co-Sponsor

  IRMMW-THz Society Banner

 University of Wollongong